Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 3.13 - Moondance

Avg. Viewer Review: 92.6%
Number of Reviews: 23

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Moonstruck on Moondance, Jul 07, 2007

Reviewer: Morpheus from Hong Kong, China


This episode was an instant classic. Kelsey Grammar did an excellent job on directing this epidsode. The camera angles were wonderful.

This was one of the finer episodes of the series.


Rating: 100%

 

Moondance, Apr 11, 2007

Reviewer: Sam from England


Brilliant Episode...One of the best


Rating: 100%

 

24 Carat Frasier, Jun 08, 2006

Reviewer: David Sim from Skelmersdale, Lancashire


From the moment Niles laid eyes on Daphne in Season 1's Dinner at Eight we have been hooked on the kooky relationship between these two characters. Niles is so completely in love with her, but Daphne in typical ditzy fashion hasn't got a clue, leaving Niles to lust after her in silence.

Moondance is a marvellous episode and a personal favourite because it seems for a time this will be the one where they will finally get together. It is so enjoyable because it succeeds on many different levels. Not only is it funny, but it's warm, touching, poignant and even moving. That is a feat that most sitcoms can't accomplish throughout their annual run but is in Moondance by the bucketful.

Not long after Niles and Maris have separated, he learns she is seeing other people. So Niles follows suit by taking a date to the Snow Ball. There's just one problem. Niles can't dance. Daphne comes to his rescue, and teaches him a few moves. These scenes are a joy because it's not often Niles gets to be so close to Daphne.

But when Niles' date cancels, Daphne steps in for her. And this sets the stage for the brilliant second half, the Snow Ball. Daphne's gorgeous red dress is a highlight, and Kelsey Grammer's direction here is excellent. The camera angles almost make the episode resemble an MGM musical. Kelsey Grammer clearly has a keen eye for choreographed dance routines, and Moondance may the best episode he's ever directed.

Because there are some snobbish friends of Maris' at the party, its very satisfying to see Niles with such a beautiful woman, and Daphne really is the belle of the ball. Their tango is the best part, and who can ever forget the moment when Daphne shows off her gymnastic ability. Also Niles gets to say all the things he's ever wanted to say to Daphne. And they share their first kiss.

That moment is my favourite part because it seems for that one moment that their relationship is about to blossom. Only for Daphne to unwittingly crush Niles' hopes when it was just an act for everyone's benefit at the party.

This makes the ending sad, but also a little hopeful, because it shows a further evolution for Niles' character that he's willing to step away from Maris' grip (not in a physical sense of course!) and live his own life.

A truly stunning episode that contains too many highlights to write about in one review. Also memorable for the look on Frasiers face when he sees Niles and Daphne going out on a date, and he hasn't got a clue what going on.

An utter gem, and by far the best episode of Season 3.


Rating: 100%

 

Awwww....., May 12, 2006

Reviewer: Alice from United Kingdom


I think this is the sweetest frasier episode! im still always annoyed at how long it takes Daphne and Niles to get together and this episode is such a tease! Loved it the first time i saw it and everytime afterward. Thank you "Frasier".


Rating: 100%

 

Unrequited, May 04, 2006

Reviewer: Tish from Edinburgh



One of many times when Frasier manages to do what few American sitcoms can- to have a really serious heartbreaking moment without the sentimentality and schmaltz. The wonderfully timed moment when Daphne looks around to see how much attention they are garnering just as Niles realises it is all a fake is just wrenching, and one of those moments that elevates the unrequited Daphne love storyline beyond simple comedy. David Hyde Pierce especially acts brilliantly in this episode. No lack of laughs either, I love the scene when Frasier comes back and it becomes apparent just how much he has missed!


Rating: 97%

 

Moondance, Apr 07, 2006

Reviewer: Amz from Wiltshire, UK


This is one of my all time favourite episodes of Frasier, because it's a Niles and Daphne episode, and I've always had a soft spot for Niles because he's just so funny. I laughed at the whole episode, but felt sorry for poor Niles at the end when he'd just told Daphne how he felt about her, but she thought it was an act to fool his snobby friends. They even shared a kiss as part of the act. The way the episode was shot was great, especially the over head shots of the dancing scenes, I say Kelsey Grammer is a great director! As for Jane Leeves and David Hyde Pierce, they really shined in this amazing episode. This is a must see Niles and Daphne episode because it really sums up their relationship.


Rating: 100%

 

Beautifully written, acted and directed., Jan 26, 2006

Reviewer: Nick from North Wales, U.K.


Kelsey Grammer stepped behind the camera here and his appearances on screen are fleeting but nevertheless this must be a contender for the greatest episode of Frasier (or any other show for that matter) ever. David Hyde Pierce's performance is breathtaking as he first brings laughs, as he learns to dance with Daphne, and then tears when he realises that her declarations of love were all an act.


Rating: 100%

 

The Minority Report on Moondance, Jan 01, 2006

Reviewer: Bad Girl from Oklahoma city, OK USA


There was such a fuss made over this one by other Frasier fans, that when I finally got around to watching it, I found it to be rather disappointing, and it didn't live up to my expectations.

Three reasons why I was not particularly impressed:

1. All of the hype surrounding it, which inflated it to nearly mythic proportions. Something that in turn caused me to 'over-expect.'

2. The absence of Frasier. I don't care how many people may disagree with me on this. Niles is a humorous, but weak character. Frasier is the middle pillar of the show, and it suffers when he isn't there to hold it all together. Niles is one Crane who lacks the strength to fly solo.

3. More needless carrot-dangling from the writers, in regard to the Niles/Daphne situation.


I must say I was surprised this snorefest was directed by Mr. Grammer, given the highly entertaining results he achieved with episodes such as "Caught In The Act." But then, I'm not a big fan of the whole Niles/Daphne romance. The possibility of them hooking up was strung out for far too long. And IMO, only a sadist could derive pleasure from watching poor Niles drool from one season to the next, over a woman who is clearly living in the Twilight Zone. Keep in mind that this is also the same woman who claims to be psychic; oh, the irony. Daphne is about as perceptive as a tree stump, which really makes one wonder just WHAT it is that Niles sees in her.

I was fighting off sleep through the majority of this episode, until Niles and Daphne made it to the party and began to dance. I was certain that they would get together as a result..... WRONG. Yet again, 'Dunderhead Daphne' fails to realize that this man is crazy about her. In all honesty, it was painful for me to watch her shoot down his lovelorn hopes and dreams. And the sad thing is, it's all because of sheer ignorance on her part.

I really think that the writers made a HUGE mistake by not allowing this to be the moment Daphne discovers Niles' true feelings. A scene which could have been incredibly passionate, was cheapened and reduced to a mere petty charade of sorts. I'm sorry, but it's just not believable that a woman can be THIS clueless. So, Niles proclaims "I adore you!" for the sole purpose of showing off in front of Merris' friends? I don't think so. The question is, why does Daphne? With a single line of dialogue, she is written off as someone who possesses the intellect of a 3 ton poundcake.

This SHOULD have been their moment, but it wasn't. When they eventually DO have their moment, several seasons down the road, it's unsatisfactory. Even worse, the consummation of their relationship is put on hold for a good space of time. Meanwhile, Daphne is inhaling every morsel of food she can get her hands on, which leads to her checking into a spa to lose the excess pounds. After ALL of this, her and Niles finally get busy in a tacky, lackluster scene that doesn't even come close to doing them justice.

In conclusion: Moondance was the episode which could have been great, but failed miserably, due to the writers' ridiculous obsession with keeping Daphne in the dark.... and Niles on the edge. Building passion is one thing, but this was just plain cruel and unnecessary. Besides, the writers' desired result was not achieved. As I mentioned before, their eventual coupling, which takes place MUCH further down the road, is pathetic and without any of the emotional sparks which were created during this episode. Moondance left me feeling cheated, betrayed, and did it's damnedest to insult my intelligence.


Rating: 25%

 

It's that red dress!, Dec 30, 2005

Reviewer: Mike Valentine from Liverpool, England


Hooray!!! as Niles's relentless pursuit of Daphne is finally rewarded in this memorable episode. Regular viewers of the show always knew Daphne was pretty and lovable, but after watching this episode, I wonder how many of us fell in love with Daphne and moreover made us regular viewers of Frasier?

The episode centres around Niles' invite to a charity ball. As he is now separated from his wife Maris, he has to find a new partner to accompany him. The Seattle snobs he socialises with know of his bitter separation, so he's keen to give-off a positive note. On hearing the news, the heroine of the half-hour 'Daphne' offers to polish-up and teach Niles some classical dance moves; not being stupid he accepts. The episode culminates with Niles' original date cancelling, so leaving Daphne to go in her place. This tall, slim, brunette with the slighty odd look on life, took my breath away in the red dress she wears to the ball. When she high-kicks her leg during the Tango, to rest on the shoulder of an astonished Niles, took my breath away and should go down as one of the most sexiest moments on television. Kelsey Grammar (Frasier) is directing this episode, so his input cannot be under-estimated. Watch-it, no don't...record it instead.


Rating: 95%

 

Moondance, Dec 12, 2005

Reviewer: FrasierNut84 from Newcastle (UK)


This episode was voted the best of its season and there is no suprise to why. This is the first episode directed by Kelsey Grammer (hence his absence) who throws himself in at the deep end with complicated overhead camera shots on the dance floor. David Hyde Pierce and Jane Leeves show off just how well they can work together and pulll off an amazing dance sequence and a dramatic kiss at the end (note. This is the first and last time they kiss until season 7) The audience is hooked thinking this could be the star of the romance they have been waiting for when Niles finds out it was all put on to impress his "friends". A truly superb episode which was well written and directed.


Rating: 96%

 

Back to Page 1
 

Continue to Page 3