Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 10.08 - Rooms With A View (2)

Avg. Viewer Review: 87.9%
Number of Reviews: 17

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

A talking hospital. That would be cool., May 25, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


"Rooms with a View" is an interesting and daring experiment, regardless of whether you think it passes or fails. For my mind, I think it works more often than not. The first half is certainly stronger, with the opening scenes capturing exactly how these characters would react in this situation: Roz bringing a fake perkiness, Daphne cold and aloof, Martin playing the nonchalant father, and Frasier achingly sincere but also nosy. I would say there are only three genuine laughs in the episode, but I like them very much: baby Frasier's "I don't like him"; Martin's "Frasier, you're not operating on your brother!"; and the long-awaited return of Maris, in telephone form. (Needless to say, David Hyde Pierce is great fun - in a mellow sort of way - as Niles-on-drugs-and-Archie-comics.)

The second half of the episode, as the foursome wait for Niles to be brought out of surgery, is by its nature sombre and - I think - deliberately formless. I'd agree that the flashbacks are too brief to provide much real emotional or comic resonance. Similarly, the episode chooses not to focus on a specific response - Daphne's near-breakdown, Frasier's desire to control everyone - but instead to merge them all together into a kind of series of vignettes. It doesn't always work, true. The attempt at structure-free storytelling is the natural enemy of a series that has always thrived most in its Chinese-box-like episodes, those structured and layered to within an inch of their lives.

Yet to me, the fact that we know Niles will come out of this alive in no way affects the episode's dramatic power. (After all, we knew Daphne wasn't going to leave in "Daphne's Room" but I still laughed a helluva lot!) What makes this episode work is primarily the showcase of character. The sequence where Roz, Martin, and Frasier pledge to appreciate each other is so smoothly played by the three actors, capturing exactly the way they relate to each other. What the script is really doing is exploring four comic creations as real people. This has been seen more often in the last few seasons, from "Visions of Daphne" and "The Dog That Rocks the Cradle" to "Frasier's Edge" and "Room Full of Heroes". I'm aware those aren't everyone's favourite episodes, but they're scripts that I heartily recommend. Since its beginning, "Frasier" - like most sitcoms - ran the risk of being simply a farce, in which silly characters acted to the extremes of their character parameters just to run into conflict with each other. Sure, they can do that - and have done in some of the series' masterpieces! Yet, the actors and writers have also done a stellar job of creating a series of detailed characters, and that's what this episode is about. Beyond which, while it might not be perfect, "Rooms with a View" isn't really asking us to be suckered in by the saccharine nature of an episode about heart surgery and memories. It's about asking us to think about what the series is saying and where the characters are heading. For me, that's a great decision.


Rating: 89%

 

A heart-warming episode, Aug 26, 2012

Reviewer: MT from Denver, Colorado USA


This is a very touching episode. I cried many times when I was watching it, especially the part when Niles called Daphne's name over and over again. The emotions are warms and genuine. I also really liked the little pieces of recollections of past hospital scenes. A really heart-warming episode.


Rating: 95%

 

Why the hate?, Oct 07, 2011

Reviewer: Anonymous from R.I.


I don't know If I can Agree with this episode being against Frasier style of show. True is a comedy but it always been more than that..several episodes have you moved or saddened at the end.
True this was almost all drama, but at this point the the characters are cared for and loved and seeing a glimps into the other side of real chatter between them is always nice. While not a fav episode it was entertaining and awsome to see the flash backs.
IDK what wrong with having a comedy that tries to be more in depth at the same time, but i guesss you just want to see what expected when you watch a certain show


Rating: 88%

 

Not what Frasier's about, Aug 12, 2011

Reviewer: Matt from UK


Sorry, hated this episode.

I know that there are fans who really become quite attached to the
cast, but the early brilliance of Frasier wasn't based on the kind of
soap opera/empty drama that this episode brings.

As the editor said, it's a comedy without the comedy. Frasier was a
show that only ever poked, prodded, nudged, and nurdled the
dramatic elements. It relied on actions with unspoken implications,
subtext, a wink and a nod. But in this instance we have Niles
surrounded by people as he lies in a hospital bed.

And what is really annoying is that we all know that Niles is going to
be fine, so it's an utter waste. Additionally, we have the pretentious
camerawork and editing to convey the flashback scenes, which totally
remove the viewer from the episode (as George Cukor said, you
should *never* notice the camera).

I am not averse to drama. I like it. There's just very little place for it
in Frasier, and when it is there it needs to be well-timed and well-due.
For example, Niles and Daphne declaring their feelings for one another
at the end of season seven was well due (and even in those
circumstances they managed to make it funny); or Roz's midlife crisis
after she spurned Bulldog. But they were always lightly, tenderly
done. This is just a double-barreled shotgun of needless, misplaced
sentimentality.

This, along with Freudian Sleep, is among the very, very worst of
Frasier, precisely because it is *not* a Frasier episode. Others may
praise the episode for 'daring' to go in a different direction, but the
show's direction was always artistically elite; this is nothing but a
regression, and nothing you wouldn't see on your average daytime
soap opera.

Really poor. A bone fracture in the entire body of work. I'll give it 10
points for the cheap Maris laugh, but that's about it.


Rating: 10%

 

Touching episode, Apr 14, 2010

Reviewer: Pierre from Nova Scotia


This is a touching episode. The notion of the hospital with a memory, and the flashbacks (flashforward at the end) is very clever. This episode contained just the right touch of pathos to bring depth and character to the protagonists. Reminds me of the curious parole board scene with Martin in an earlier episode.

The episode contains some unusual shots and angles. There is one scene with Martin in the forefront, and Roz and Daphne in the background. I don't recall seeing this setup before. Makes it more interesting.

I think the occasional serious/sad episode serves to cement the characters' relationships, and makes the humourous episodes more solid and rich.


Rating: 100%

 

All roads lead to the Hospital., Apr 17, 2009

Reviewer: woody from Texarkana, Texas


I am a Methodist clergyman and so have spent a great deal of time in Hospitals, and have often been honored to be included in situations similar to those depicted in this episode.

There is a quality about this episode that is not often found on television. I was captivated, and found it to be innovative, thought provoking, extremely moving, and ....true. It is certainly my favorite episode of "Frasier", and ranks high among my favorite television moments.


Rating: 98%

 

Heartbreakingly moving...and funny?!, Feb 01, 2009

Reviewer: Danielle from UK


This episode had me crying and laughing, and slipping between the two so fast that by the end it felt like I had been on an emotional rollercoaster - in just over 20mins!

The different reactions to Niles' operation were so real and so heartfelt. I've been through a similar situation and could see each character reflected in my own situation.
Jane Leeves was so good you could actually feel yourself welling up everytime the camera was on her.
John Mahoney's understated pain was perfect. He rarely let Martin's real heartbreak show on his face but you could see it clearly under the surface the whole episode...
Roz's need to look to the future and tell everyone it's going to be fine (well trying to convince herself!) and Frasier's need to know EVERYTHING so as to maintain some sort of control over the situation.
Niles' 'Daphne, Daphne, Daphne' somewhow managed to be funny and moving at the same time...

We could relate to their pain...because what would the Frasier world be like without Niles?!!!!!!!

AND to top it all off it had a line from Martin and Roz that had me giggling for days! When Fraiser was trying to get Martins Chunky bar out of the vending machine,
Martin "We have a stuck Chunky!"
Roz "Well why did Chunky stick his arm in there?!"
Simple, silly...so good!!


Rating: 100%

 

Flashbacks, Jul 16, 2008

Reviewer: Kevin from NYC


Genuis. Heart-tugging and well organized. Kelsey Grammar did an excellent job directing it as well as performing in it. I have shared this one with friends because its so powerful.


Rating: 100%

 

The Best of Crane, Mar 16, 2008

Reviewer: Phil from UK


Evey time I've watched this episode I've welled up. It's the saddest, yet my favourite episode of Frasier by a mile. So clever and a real television gem. A desert island disc for me


Rating: 100%

 

rooms with a view, Jan 13, 2008

Reviewer: kaity from usa


that is one of my favorite ones and i felt really sad when Daphne told Roz that she just wanted her husband back.
yeah that was really sad


Rating: 100%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2