Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 9.05 - Room Full Of Heroes

Avg. Viewer Review: 85.0%
Number of Reviews: 11

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Old Man Crane, May 20, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


After a quartet of episodes profiling each of the main characters, it seems fitting to lock them all in a room for a kind of summary of that analysis. Everyone's costumes make wonderful sense, particularly the reveal of Niles dressed as Martin. Daphne's bizarre impersonation of Elton John feels very early-season Daph, and I like it. (Incidentally, this was the last episode before 9/11 and the death of David Angell. It's also the last episode to prominently feature, I think, a child other than Ashley Thomas as Alice- since it was filmed before "Love Stinks".)

Overall, I quite like this one. It's a bit of a highlight of season 9, veering from hilarious to sweet to confronting. Niles citing Hester as his inspiration and then refusing to answer to "Niles", the good kid actor who shares a scene with Frasier, and the wonderful quirky moment where Frasier's game goes completely out of control due to a connection between Diana Prince and Princess Di. It makes perfect sense (and I'm sure we all know someone like it) that Frasier's games are not what these guys had in mind for a fun night, and it's that occasional transition between humouring their friend and wanting to hang out with everyone else that can still believably create tension in this group. Probably the only thing keeping this episode from being a real classic is that the structure is a little mixed. The episode can't quite decide if it's a story about sibling rivalry, about the tensions of Martin and his perception, or about Frasier getting his way. From an audience perspective, it doesn't necessarily need to pick. For a solid dramatic or comedic structure, it could perhaps have made the choice. Still, David Hyde Pierce and John Mahoney perfectly sell their rollercoaster of emotions, and the ending - though telegraphed - is hysterical.


Rating: 86%

 

True genius, Jul 20, 2012

Reviewer: Paul Carr from Suffolk, England


Emotional and hilarious with a brilliant ending.
One of the best


Rating: 100%

 

A perfect (subtle) followup to the previous two episodes, Feb 17, 2010

Reviewer: morscata12 from USA


I found the last few scenes of this episode to be extremely worthwhile. Some of the in-character scenes were a little too silly to fit in with the style of the show, but they were enjoyable nonetheless. I wanted to discuss what I saw in Niles' touching/revealing speech at the end of this episode, as it seems to tie together quite a few themes from Frasier.

"Love Stinks" has Frasier attempting to make friends with the "common man" and eventually realizing he does not want to do so. As retribution, his party in this episode is an unsurprising failure. Even the children in his building are put off by him. It's a nice continuation of the arc; this arc is built upon beautifully by Nile's speech near the end of the episode.

"The Return of Martin Crane" shows Niles looking up to his father (as he often does in the series), yet also keeping his distance from Martin in the past. These two traits seemed contradictory - this contradiction is embarrassingly explained by Niles during his drunken speech at the Halloween party.

Martin identifies himself as a "common man", while Niles identifies as an "elite". Despite these differences, Martin was a hero to Niles due to many of Martin's traits (honesty, integrity, loyalty, hard work, etc). Niles followed his father's example to the best of his ability, and Martin was proud of him because of that. Yet Martin's identity as "common man" was unobtainable to Niles, so Niles never believed himself to be as good as Martin.

By dressing in various outfits, Niles is able to momentarily experience life as he believes his father would want. Unfortunately, this experience is non-sustainable, as were all of his past attempts (ice fishing, hunting trips, sporting events, etc). Niles can wear a costume to fit the role of "common man", but he knows he does not identify with that role. He feels discomfort during these attempts because he knows he is not that kind of person, and eventually gives up and drops his guise.

Unlike other episodes, Niles has chosen to keep up the appearance of "common man" to please his father. To avoid the discomfort this causes him, Niles drinks heavily during this episode. Eventually he drops his guard, and his disappointment with himself and his brother leaks out.

Niles does not believe his father is disappointed in him. By taking on the appearance of his hero, his speech reveals what he thinks of himself in relation to that hero (rather than what he believes his hero thinks). Understandably, Martin is upset - he sees a twisted version of himself telling his sons he doesn't approve of them or love them. Since Martin does love his sons, he is deeply hurt that Niles carries this interpretation of Martin around with him.

I am disappointed this confrontation wasn't expanded upon (beyond Niles' attempt to smooth things over with his father). This sort of revelation deserved a few more scenes between Martin and Niles to clear the air, though the final "brain scooping" scene was a marvelous payoff for a complex episode.


Rating: 90%

 

Ambivalent views - , Dec 18, 2008

Reviewer: Anne from Birmingham, England


I have to say I have mixed views about this episode. I loved watching it (as much as I love watching most Frasier episodes), but it annoyed and sadened me a little. The whole episode finds Frasier acting like a complete idiot, and everyone being understanding and calm with his childish nature, and yet it is Niles that gets it in the end - despite his wonderful act towards his dad. Having his dad as his hero was so touching for Niles, why couldn't they have just left it at that? why have to ruin it? we so rarely get a glimpse of the development of the relationship between Niles and Martin (it's always Frasier and Martin), so this would have been a great opportunity for this had in not been ruined in the end. It was completely unecessary and it ruined a perfectly touching storyline.
Other than that, such great acting and the ending was hysterical. This show never ceases to amaze me, how it can make me laugh one minute and then very sad the next. Brilliant.


Rating: 90%

 

Underrated, Jan 10, 2008

Reviewer: Peter from Ohio, USA


This is one of the more touching-and funny-shows out there, in my opinion...

Contrary to the first review, I believe that Niles' speech was not in fact scripted, and seemed to come straight from the heart.

That was really touching, in my opinion.


Rating: 90%

 

Niles as the Dad, Jun 22, 2007

Reviewer: Joshua Bramon from Newport Beach, CA USA


Niles as the dad was the best part of the show. It could not have gotten any better than that. It was a knockout.


Rating: 98%

 

An opinion from Slovakia :), Jan 11, 2007

Reviewer: Sandra from Slovakia, Europe


I just saw this episode and I must say that the funniest thing for me was at the and when children from Frasier´s building saw Frasier "eating" Nileses brain :D :D :D


Rating: 80%

 

Missed chance to develop characters, Nov 01, 2006

Reviewer: Mark from Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas


After just viewing this episode for the first time, I thought I would throw my two cents out there. First off, I wouldn't be surprised if Kelsey Grammar shows up in a one man off Broadway production as Freud. Kudos to the makeup department. The show was fine, not the best of the scripts, but intriguing. Martins eruption at Niles tipsy impression of him caught me by surprise. I actually became very embarrassed for “Niles“. I wish it had been explored further. I thought it was very appropriate behavior for both, and could have been developed into a fuller script that could have deepened the characters.


Rating: 70%

 

Review of 'Room Full of Heroes', Jul 28, 2006

Reviewer: Beer Necessity from York, England


A Halloween outing which, while not being particularly high brow, is fun throughout nonetheless. Frasier invents a game in which everyone must dress up as their hero and answer questions in-character. Frasier obviously dresses as Sigmund Freud, but Niles reneges on an agreement to dress as Carl Jung and instead curries favour with Martin by dressing up as him! This leads to some nice comedy as Frasier’s jealousy and need for approval get the better of him. The downside is a heavy handed scene in which Niles goes too far imitating his father and suggests he was disappointed in his sons. The episode does end on a high note with a wonderful visual gag involving Frasier and a serving spoon! Good episode.


Rating: 79%

 

Room Full Of Heroes, Sep 28, 2005

Reviewer: Stratman from Stratman


This episode has always been one of my season 9 favourites. Seeing the cast decked out in their costumes was great, Niles especially. His tribute to Martin showed just how far they had come. Daphne's bad impersonation of Elton John was a bit baffling, though it was more than likely intentional.

There were some rather funny moments including the lobby scene where Frasier is talking to the young boy about his brother ''stealing his candy'', which was quite good. Also worth a mention is when the trick or treaters misinterpret the removal of Niles' wig.




Rating: 79%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2