Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 6.15 - To Tell The Truth

Avg. Viewer Review: 83.1%
Number of Reviews: 8

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Baby eczema, May 13, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


"To Tell the Truth" is the (very) beginning of the Niles/Daphne endgame, as evidenced by how fast and loose the writers (and characters) are now with his feelings.

Look, I'm not 100% convinced that Frasier's ethics are that all-encompassing. Certainly, he's shown a consistent belief that Niles needs to sort out his own feelings for Maris, but I'm doubtful that Frasier would find it so hard to lie when the consequence would be to emancipate Niles once and for all. Still, I'm open to debate on that one, which I guess leaves it open to the writers. Either way, this episode achieves the one-two punch of eroding Maris' hold over her ex-husband (with the final crushing blow: urinal cakes!) and introducing Daphne to Donny Douglas, one of her great romances.

As Donny, Saul Rubinek seems an unlikely choice for the major rival of our series' central love interest. He's not leading-man handsome, and his personality and personal habits are deliberately off-putting from the start. All the same, he's genuine, passionate, and not a character made from a cookie-cutter. And the development of Daphne - particularly lately, and the more we find out about her over the course of this season - suggests that she's not looking for the same traits that Roz or Frasier are seeking. Instead, she wants someone who will truly love her. This makes a great amount of sense given how Niles' rhapsodic feelings have been portrayed. In this sense, Donny is just right.

The episode has a fair amount of sincerity to it. In the sombre finale, Niles reaches the crushing fear that - just as he's developing the courage to confess his feelings - Daphne has been snatched, for good, by someone else. And John Mahoney has one of his greatest acting moments on the show, really selling the scene where Martin confesses that he once lied under oath.

"To Tell The Truth" is an unusual episode, and one that few sitcoms could pull off. It alternates between comic and serious scenes on a whim, but unites them all under the one theme. Not perhaps my favourite episode, but it's a necessary stepping stone and the way Kelsey Grammer delivers the phrase "fruit cocktail" is proof of its quality for me.


Rating: 85%

 

To Tell The Truth, Jul 16, 2010

Reviewer: Norm, Jr. from Somewhere, CA


It's new arc time, and the writers head in the direction we've all been waiting for. Niles' days of woe with his divorce to Maris continue to stall toward their conclusion. So on the reference of Roz regarding a lawyer ex-boyfriend of hers, Niles and Frasier pay the guy a visit. They're met with a slovenly, unkempt, distracted pudge whose only skill appears to be nauseation. Of course in sitcom land, he's a dynamo who gets Niles court date moved up by several months. Next thing you know this Donny has unearthed a smelly bit from Maris' past that puts Niles in the driver's seat. But in a predictable yet painful twist, Niles glee is short-lived, sending the show into all new turmoils. Rubinek is totally winning as Donny, and Pierce is at his best for the various emotions that the script packs.


Rating: 85%

 

"Cherry bark and almonds.", Nov 18, 2009

Reviewer: LadyLuck from New York


This is a good, pretty solid episode. I sort of like Donny (in his lawyer role,) the urinal cake twist
is a nice surprise, and it's nice that Niles is finally free of the horrible Maris divorce. Everything
is finally falling into place, until...

The last scene at Nervosa, when Daphne and Donny show up on a date with each other.

I am surprised no one has mentioned this so far, but I cannot watch this without tearing up --
and I DO NOT cry while watching sitcoms --

when Donny casually says to Daphne "what does your hair smell like?" Niles turns away, and
says to himself (in what is in my opinion one of David Hyde Pierce's FINEST moments)

"...cherry bark and almonds."

I get a lump in my throat just thinking about the way he said it.


Rating: 84%

 

To Tell The Truth, Jan 17, 2008

Reviewer: Nick from Washington State


How can you not love this episode? It does end sadly for Niles, but we all know what happens in the season after this. But in my opinion, the 'flushed out your family secret' line was one of the funniest moment in Frasier history.


Rating: 95%

 

Funny New Character Introduced Here, Dec 22, 2006

Reviewer: Richard Davidson from Indianapolis, IN USA


I think Donny is a very funny character, and I love the scene where he is introduced. I love the acting of all the principal characters, but I remember the question that occurred to me the first time I saw it:

How could Daphne POSSIBLY be attracted to this man?

It's just a very strange thing, and it actually started me on a road of not liking Frasier anymore for awhile. I had a strangely powerful emotional investment in Niles getting together with Daphne! Thank David Hyde Pierce, who I have always seen as the strongest performer on the show (or possibly any American sitcom!)

Seeing the show now, I think this is a pretty good episode.


Rating: 80%

 

Wonderful, Oct 15, 2006

Reviewer: Jeff from Pensacola, FL USA


A wonderful story with witty dialogue and funny visuals. One of the things that I accept in long running sit-coms that I've come to love are the serious undertones (I think "A Day in May" is a very good episode). The sad ending is the only reason I can understand the low scores from other reviewers. Re-watched this one last night on DVD before reviewing. One of the best of Season 6.


Rating: 92%

 

Review of 'To Tell The Truth', Mar 22, 2006

Reviewer: Nick from North Wales, U.K.


Finally it seems like things are going right for Niles in this episode when his new lawyer, Donny discovers that Maris's family made their money from urinal cakes. It seems unneccessarily harsh therefore that he is almost immediately forced to see Donny and Daphne together as a couple. The scene in the lawyer's office is amusing but it also begs the question as to why Daphne and Roz would both be interested in a man with so little self-awareness.


Rating: 64%

 

'To Tell The Truth' review, Jul 23, 2005

Reviewer: Jocelyn from London, UK


The character of Donny Douglas makes his first appearance here when, following Maris' lawyers decision to postpone her and Niles' increasingly expensive divorce proceedings, Roz suggests that Niles hire Douglas, a hotshot lawyer who also happens to be her ex-boyfirend. Unfortunately complications arise when Maris' lawyers cite Niles and Daphne's public tango in 'Moondance' as evidence that Niles was seeing another woman during their marriage, causing Frasier to battle with his ethics and an anxious Niles to crouch underneath the piano. A nicely written episode which introduces Donny in a very funny manner as he begins to strip off while conducting his business. I also enjoyed Niles' obvious delight when discovering that Maris made all her money from urinal cakes! Sadly, Niles' happiness is short lived when he spots Donny out on a date with Daphne in Nervosa making for a heartbreaking ending, beautifully performed by David Hyde Pierce.


Rating: 80%