Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 6.01 - Good Grief

Avg. Viewer Review: 86.8%
Number of Reviews: 13

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Denial, May 11, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


Following on from a game-changing season 5 finale, in which the entire KACL crew lost their jobs, season 6's premiere is a little plot-heavy, and sometimes uneven in its wanderings between grief and humour. Much of Frasier's growing denial is more amusing than gutbustingly funny (The picnic scene being a case in point), and somehow the comedic parts and the dramatic parts exist more as separate entities than the close fusion in season 5.

Having said that, it's fair enough - for both the audience and Kelsey Grammer - to explore another side of Frasier, and the series has done such a solid job of building up the reality of KACL that to have it ripped away from us is quite a change. The humour in Frasier's weight gain is good fun, and so is his Internet fan club meeting (as well as Niles' reaction!).

"Good Grief" is not a classic, but it does a good job of setting up the key concerns of the season, and the actors and crew are still in very good form. It's the start of a great season, so I'm not too disappointed.


Rating: 78%

 

Frasier Season 6 Episode 1 Review, Jul 06, 2012

Reviewer: Henry from Atlanta, GA, USA


This is a good opening episode for the sixth season. I use the word "good" strictly. I don't mean great, but I most certainly do not mean bad. This episode's good side is that it is very unique. I can assume only once in the series there is a whole episode dedicated to Frasier trying to get over the termination of his job (I have seen about 75% of the series). The bad side of the episode, is that the comedy seems like it was quickly thought through. As someone stated in another review, the humour was "forced." Now I don't say this in an extreme manor, there were certain parts of the episode that definitely had me laughing, but it does seem some of the humour is just a tad-bit over done.

There are many memorable scenes from this episode such as the scene when Frasier gets angry and destroys the piņata and his phone in front of all his past co-workers. Also, the scene where he begins to weep a bit, then cries his heart out.

Now for goofs. One, that I noticed myself, when they show the close up of the television to replay Frasier eating the baby food, the logos of the TV are poorly covered with gaff tape. That was a simple mistake that could have been handled better. Also, I read some place online that a mic is visible from above during the shot right after Frasier says "I'm quite sure" before he starts crying. I have yet to catch the mic on screen, but please post if you do.

All-in-all this is a good episode to start the sixth season. It may have a bit of "forced" humour, but the episode is very memorable and definitely gave me a good laugh.


Rating: 85%

 

Browning Operetta, Mar 05, 2012

Reviewer: Wanda Lewis from Bossier Citty, Louisiana


This is one of my favorite episodes. I love the fact that Frasier, the one that is so keen on everyone elses flaws, has no idea that he is going through these phases of grief. I do however have one question, does anyone know if the operetta about the Brownings really exsist? I love that part they sing but have not been successful in finding it anywhere. If you are not the owner of the full series, you don't know what you're missing. This is by far the best television series I have ever watched. My entire family is hooked on it, including my husband and that is a major "boom" in itself.


Rating: 100%

 

Too Frasier-centric, but not bad, Jun 14, 2011

Reviewer: Matt from UK


So we open season 6 with Frasier unemployed after KACL's
conversion to music radio. As one would expect, the episode *had* to
deal with Frasier's adjustment to life after KACL, so no fault there.

However, one of the key rules to the success of the show is in making
full use of the ensemble cast; the problem here is that the entire
episode is centered on Frasier's breakdown at the loss of his cherished
lifestyle. The often-chucklesome subplots that hold up weaker main
plots are almost completely abandoned.

And, although the 'stages of grief' structure is ostensibly quite clever,
it also severely handicaps the episode by continually forcing the
spotlight on Frasier. The breakdown itself all seemed rather over the
top to me, and it rather signals Kelsey Grammer's transition from
skeptical, snarky, grounded Frasier to gesticulating, yelling ham.

Not a terrible episode by any means, but more a warning sign as to
how the show suffers when the radio station is extracted, the duties
are not shared among the ensemble, and Kelsey Grammer is given
too much of the spotlight.


Rating: 74%

 

Good Grief Frasier, you're not famous any more, Apr 08, 2011

Reviewer: Carys Humhreys from Wales,Uk


I love the part when Marain is trying to teach Eddie a trick and Martain said "Then I say "Freeze punk, it's all over." but Eddie does not do anything so it try again and said "It's all over! [no response] Oh come on Eddie, you're supposed to go like this. [Martin rolls over on back]. I also love the part when Frasier asks Daphne Oh my God, that's my duck! Thank you, Daphne. When you're done with that, I need you to run some errands for me. I need a very sturdy lemon-zester, some more music paper, some potting soil and an easel and Daphne said "I'd be happy to and then Daphne [muttering] And then maybe after that I could draw a batth strip you naked and scrub you with a loofah. Would that be all right, Dr. Crane? and Niles mistakes it she ask him and not asking Frasier.




Rating: 100%

 

Good Grief! How can an episode get better?, Jul 30, 2009

Reviewer: A pro-opera Jungarian. from Where every Critic goes.


Good grief has always been one of my favorite episodes, making my third all in all. It was the greatest beginning for any season (Though 'The two Mrs. Cranes was a very good rival) and was pure comic genius.

The episode, in brief summary, is about Frasier losing his job and how he copes with it. He goes through a series of psychological stages of Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. The episode goes through each stage and how Frasier deals with it, with each one getting funnier than the last one every time.

It includes some classic scenes such as when Frasier, after learning he was turned down on a job application, beats a pinata till as Martin says 'Jawbreakers were found on the highway'. Other great scenes include when Frasier's fan club comes over to his apartment for a party, only for Frasier to find out that it contains only three members. All of them 'kooks' as Frasier called them. Other great scenes include when the fans first come to the apartment. Frasier tries to introduce them to his father only for the fans to say 'Oh, we know these people!' And with Martin replying 'And now where we live too'.

The party becomes even funnier with great lines by Niles, who arrives. One fan comments 'It must be cool, your brother having his own club and all.' 'Oh I know' Niles replies, 'seeing all of you here, I wish I had a club myself.'

The episode then ends with Frasier, after weeks of overeating, accepts that he lost his job and grieves. Thus ends a great episode, with dozens of great lines I didn't mention to save for the value of the episode.

All in all it was superbly done. Frasier as a show banked on that episode, for it was their first one in the spot Seinfeld used to fill. And they filled it masterfully. The screenplay was witty and hillarious, the acting captured all you wanted of the characters, and the show seemed like it would never end, and you were glad because of it. Ranking up with the other great Frasier episodes, it began a new Frasier 'era'. That from this point on, Frasier, while he had more episodes dealing with him than any other character, collectively however, the plots dealt more with the other characters.

The episode, in a breakdown goes as such:

Main plot-100%-I can't think how they could have improved it. Flawless in every regard.

Subplot-50% Non-existent but due to not needing it I gave it 50%.

Usage of Characters- 90%-Done very well with Frasier, Niles and Martin and Daphne, Roz on the other hand isn't used as well.

Screenplay-100%-Perfect.

Supporting cast\guest stars-85%-while not there much, they are all good when they appear.

All in all 85%, however I give it a boost due to not needing a sub plot and for the circumstance they had to live up to-all in all-95%.


Rating: 95%

 

Good Grief...this is underrated!, Dec 02, 2008

Reviewer: David Sim from Skelmersdale, England


Fans generally agree that Season 6 is much poorer than the five seasons before it. My own opinion of it is a little more cautious. Its not a bad season by any means. But it is an unusual one. The first eight episodes covers Frasier's sacking from KACL, before the show reverted back to its traditional format.

I've never been able to understand the writers reasons for this particular storyline. Certainly it had no bearing on anything else in the series. They may have been trying to work in a more dramatic thrust, but I think the experiment proved unworkable. They backed the show into a corner it never should have gone in the first place.

Still, in spite of my distaste for this story arc, I think Good Grief is a good, strong opening episode for Season 6. Many Frasier fans have an astonishing hatred of it. I suspect because they're dismissal of the "out of work" scenario has blinded them to the episode's merits. I would much rather watch Good Grief over Season 2's underwhelming opener. That's a truly dire episode!

Good Grief is scripted by Christopher Lloyd, the finest writer on the staff after Joe Keenan. And he has the unenviable task on his shoulders of penning the first proper episode with Frasier out of work. And he does a superb job. Christopher Lloyd is an extremely adept plot-master. He's proven that time and again. And does so with Good Grief.

Reminiscent of the pilot episode, Good Grief goes through five separate stages. The different ways Frasier deals with his unemployment. First up is DENIAL. Frasier tries to keep up a brave face, even when he blows an audition (hilariously!). He tries writing an operatta. Decorating. Researching. Cooking. Gardening. Painting. Burying his head in the sand not having to worry about his prospects. Christopher Lloyd has always had a knack for balancing serious stories with great comedy. This is no exception:

(Frasier) "I'm a beloved Seattle institution."
(Martin) "A few more days like this, he'll (Frasier) be in a beloved Seattle institution."

Next is ANGER. Frasier throws a picnic for the KACL staff. Most of whom have found work, except for poor Frasier. When he loses out on a job to Gil, Frasier takes his anger out on a pinata. I thought that was pretty funny, even if most people didn't. Don't forget...it was Gil (brilliantly smug as always).

Onto BARGAINING. Frasier's throwing a party for his fan club. Niles' reply to that is classic. ("What's wrong with the bridge they usually meet under?!") But there are only three of them. Three oddballs, and they're all hilarious, especially George. All he says is "This is Great...This is Great!" Notice the way Frasier starts eating all the entrees. And that sets us up for stage 4, DEPRESSION.

Frasier is mired in misery, and he's taken to eating compulsively. Look at the size of his belly! He even eats Alice's baby food! So in a rather touching scene, Niles, Martin, Daphne and Roz all pull together to get Frasier through it and into the last stage, ACCEPTANCE. But Frasier has a lot of grieving to do first. I loved Niles' trigger. ("Frasier, you're not famous anymore"). Frasier blows like Krakatoa!

Things come to a lovely conclusion. Frasier has accepted his losses, but will no longer repress them. And in an inspired touch, Niles assures Frasier his divorce will come off without a hitch. DENIAL comes up again. How can anyone hate an episode that has such a delightful ending?

I still think Frasier's unemployment was an unnecessary addition to the series. But it's nice to see a sitcom willing to take risks with itself. Its just most of the following episodes couldn't juggle the balance between comedy and drama as successfully as Christopher Lloyd did here. If they had, Season 6 would probably be more highly rated then it is.

Certainly Good Grief is not the failure most people accuse it of. Its not quite a Christopher Lloyd classic, like Mixed Doubles or High Holidays, but its affecting and funny in all the right places. Kelsey Grammer's performance is faultless. The way he must cover such a wide spectrum of emotion is brilliant. A promising debut for this story. A shame the following episodes didn't deliver on it.


Rating: 90%

 

One of the best, Nov 25, 2007

Reviewer: Loveliest Girl from UK


This has to be one of the best episodes ever. I too don't understand why some other reviewers see it as average, maybe comedy is in the mind of the beholder? Our household laughs uncontrollably despite seeing it a number of times. The bit where Niles tells Frasier he is no longer famous is especially funny. BTW it is a comedy - and as such uses exaggeration, slapstick and over-emphasis for some of it's comic pulls - it's not meant to be an accurate portrayal of mental illness, whilst worthy that would be, it wouldn't be very funny...

Give it a go - we really liked this one...


Rating: 92%

 

This is great! Really!, Apr 25, 2007

Reviewer: Guess from Frasierland


I have no idea what the other reviewers are smoking; this has got to be, hands-down, the funniest Frasier episode. It is honestly my favorite.

The video Roz plays of Frasier eating the baby food.... made me laugh so hard, I almost peed myself. Then, there was the "fan club" scene. OMG LOL! Hilarious beyond description.

Well-scripted, side-splitting humor. Too many great scenes to list.

What person in their right mind would give this gem any less than 100%??? Not me, that's for sure! : )


Rating: 100%

 

Another, Jan 12, 2007

Reviewer: Me123 from Scotland, UK


It is, once again, important to realise that this episode is designed to progress the storyline, in this case to show Frasier's grief at his job loss. Therefore, one must realise that humour is not the most important thing to look for here.

It is fairly good at the progression theme. Grammer shows his acting skills off really well through most of the stages (particularly anger), however his depression acting was... depressing, and insulting to many people who have depression or have dealt with depression (myself included, having many friends who are depressed).

I loved Niles and Daphne's only moment in the show:

"Frasier: Oh my God, that's my duck! Thank you, Daphne. When you're done with that, I need you to run some errands for me. I need a very sturdy lemon-zester, some more music paper, some potting soil and an easel.

Daphne: I'd be happy to.

-Niles appears, starting to enter behind Daphne.-

Daphne: [muttering] And then maybe after that I could draw a bath, strip you naked and scrub you with a loofah. Would that be
all right, Dr. Crane?

Niles: Yes."

The fan club was possibly the funniest moment of this episode. The actors here were brilliant at being creepy, particularly George (The "This is great" guy). His obsession acting was darned good, and actually made him seem like a total creep!

And it was nice to have another look at baby Alice.

All in all, an OK start to Season 6, and a good progression from Season 5, but nothing particluarly special.


Rating: 84%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2