Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 5.21 - Roz And The Schnoz

Avg. Viewer Review: 84.7%
Number of Reviews: 24

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Baby brain, May 10, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


The season 5 writers might not have been great at incorporating Roz into regular episodes, but those based around her character are on fire this year. Roz adjusting to her imminent motherhood is a clever development to the character, and her insecurities are brought out in fine detail by the realisation that her in-laws are genetically predisposed to having massive noses. Throw in some delightfully puerile responses from Martin and Niles, and a little dose of character-conflict-disguised-as-farce for Frasier and Daphne, and you have another season 5 gem.

Do I think the nose-based humour is cruel? No, not at all. Rick's parents are only ever portrayed as intelligent and kind people. It's just that - like most of our main characters - they have a certain blind spot about themselves. Martin and Niles' hysteria is certainly not their most kind-hearted moment, but it evolves nicely from the moment. Good fun.


Rating: 88%

 

One of the funniest ever, Aug 26, 2011

Reviewer: Bond-san from London, UK


It's a mystery why some people are so po faced about this episode. Its detractors get all
sniffy about it's supposedly not living up to the lofty accomplishments of the writing team,
or some such nonsense. Worse, they then take the high moral ground, seeming to suggest
than anyone who DOES love this episode somehow doesn't understand what Frasier was all
about. But Frasier was a broad church. What made it so great was that it could do
insightful, character-led observational comedy, high farce and even camp silliness. That was its
brilliance. This epsiode is one of the high water marks of Frasier as farce. And on those
terms it is a masterpiece. Some complain that to make fun of people with large noses is
puerile. Indeed it is. But the episode clearly turns the joke on the regulars who poke fun at
the Garretts, who are never represented as being anything but a warm, lovely couple. At
the end of the day, any episode can really only be measured by how many laughs it gives
us. I have laughed out loud a this episode more times than I can remember. On that score
alone, it scores a perfect 100%.


Rating: 100%

 

roz and the schnoz, Aug 09, 2011

Reviewer: Jess from MD


This is the best and funniest episode i have ever watched of Frasier!! It was hilarious!! I was laughing hysterically!!! I loved it.


Rating: 100%

 

best episode ever!, May 07, 2010

Reviewer: becky from England


this is the funniest episode ever look out for martin's joke when the grandparents say whats that ii can smell and martin says probably china!! hilarious everyone must watch this episode


Rating: 100%

 

Roz and the Shnoz, Aug 18, 2009

Reviewer: Louis Norman from London


Roz and the Shnoz is clever and funny- the simple comedy combined with some Frasierish jokes
makes a perfect episode

All of the cast surprise is hilarious, especially Martins "Aghh!" which made my dad laugh
hysterically was perfect- Frasiers anger at Niles, Daphne and Martin was great and better when
he finally snapped

when the two grandparents do their speech about "anyone who knows you knows your nosier."
and the the reference to the Schnauzers was so funny.

overall Great!

Louis


Rating: 92%

 

Frasier Fan, Mar 05, 2009

Reviewer: Ljeoaeh from IA USA


I think Frasier is the all-time best show there was due to it's intelligent humor, great writing, wit, fantastic acting (David Hyde Pierce is brilliant - they're all good), etc. However, I have to agree with a few others that this is one of my least favorite episodes. When I watched it, I was uncomfortable because it seemed like the writers had lost their edge and were just drowning. To play to something like big noses - big deal. It seemed pretty amateur and weak. They have so many brilliant episodes full of irony, self-effacing humor, and so much more that I always felt like I was getting a bit of an education at the same time as laughing. This was the opposite, and it made me sad. I'm not saying it was bad - maybe if it'd been a different show, I'd laugh some - but just because I know how great the writing of Frasier can be, I found it a little embarrassing. Did they change writers from seasons 2 and 3 (can't speak to 4, I don't own that season)? I always argue to people that Frasier was the smartest comedy there was on television, but I'd hate for them to watch this episode and decide that.

Anyway, like I said, I've seen worse from so many other shows, but it was the complete opposite of what I think is so wonderful about this show.


Rating: 40%

 

Roz and the Schnoz, Oct 01, 2008

Reviewer: Bernadette from Wagga Wagga, NSW, Australia


I have to admit I absolutely love this episode I laugh so much I cry, the laughs in the kitchen the one liners, the guests sniffing the quiche to Martin laughing so hard just love it. Wonderful writing.


Rating: 100%

 

Frasier Plays It Dumb, Mar 31, 2008

Reviewer: Rich from Exeter, England


As a couple of others have said, this is one of the worst Frasier episodes, not because it's especially badly-written but because the main running gag is 'Roz's baby might get a big nose...'. Yeah, that's it. The nature of the humour left me feeling uncomfortable. Frasier is a balding, overweight middle-aged man with a heavy face and a weird mouth. Martin is a grey-haired old midget with a stick, etc. etc. This episode seemed to play to the lowest common denominater, totally lacking in the usual wit or intelligence. I thought the 'humour' here was essentially based on cruelty.


Rating: 10%

 

There is nothing else like it..., Feb 10, 2008

Reviewer: Eileen Grimes from Seattle, WA USA


I have the DVD of the 5th season, and I think I've watched this episode at least 200 times.
Whenever I want a good belly laugh I tune in this one episode. What is amazing is, even after
so many viewings, I still can't get through it without dying of laughter and tears running down
my face. I would love to know if, during the scene in the kitchen when they're all losing it, if
that was improvisation - those people weren't acting in that scene!

They must have had a blast filming it!


Rating: 100%

 

A FARCE WITH TWO BIG ONES!, Jan 09, 2008

Reviewer: DEAN MATHER from UNITED KINGDOM


ROZ GETS TO MEET THE PARENTS OF RICK,FATHER OF HER BABY AND DISCOVERS THAY THEY HAVE HUGE NOSES,WITH FRASIER,NILES MARTIN AND DAPHNE ALL IN ATTENDANCE.ANOTHER FARCE WHICH DELEIVERS SOME GOOD LAUGHS BUT CANNOT STAND UP TO TRUE CLASSICS LIKE SKI LODGE AND ITS ILK.NOT BAD THOUGH.


Rating: 86%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2