Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact

Member Rank Images

Announcements about changes to the site, plus support of all sections of the site, such as the forum and gallery, are located in this forum

Member Rank Images

Postby chrisj » Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:24 am

Hi. I'm obviously new here but I've been an admin on a couple of other forum sites, both of them phpBB like this one. I have read a few posts about the fact that some people post none or very little. I found that a great way to get posts up was to set ranks for each member based on the number of posts made. Of course many forums have this already in place, and it gives members a little incentive when they see those stars or other images that indicate their longevity and contributions to the site.

Just a thought. :wink:
"You get the one, you get that other one! Oh, you are SO that other one!"
chrisj

Re: Member Rank Images

Postby Mr Blue Sky » Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:33 pm

chrisj wrote:Hi. I'm obviously new here but I've been an admin on a couple of other forum sites, both of them phpBB like this one. I have read a few posts about the fact that some people post none or very little. I found that a great way to get posts up was to set ranks for each member based on the number of posts made. Of course many forums have this already in place, and it gives members a little incentive when they see those stars or other images that indicate their longevity and contributions to the site.

Just a thought. :wink:

Interesting thught, but personally I'm against any sort of hierarchical structure that indicates one person's opinion is more or less vaild than anyone else's. I was actually against post counts being shown under the usernames for the same reason but there wasn't any way to remove it when Stu upgraded the forum software.
"You don't turn the other cheek, you slice it."
Mr Blue Sky

Postby Moon-Crane » Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:33 pm