Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 1.24 - My Coffee With Niles

Avg. Viewer Review: 94.9%
Number of Reviews: 16

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Review of My Coffee With Niles, Aug 05, 2012

Reviewer: Autumn from Oakland, CA


A great finale to the first season, My Coffee With Niles does what Frasier sometimes seems to do best-take a simple scenario and create brilliant comedy. Whilst Frasier and Niles sit in Cafe Nervosa with their usual beverages, Niles asks a deceptively simple question "Are you happy?" Finding the answer takes an entire episode.
Set entirely in the coffee shop, this is perhaps one of my favourite Frasier episodes. The premise is great; just an ordinary day for the characters. As usual, there are some great humorous moments, perhaps topped by Martin pretending to be blind in order to allow Eddie entrance into the cafe. One of the best parts of this episode, though, is probably the emotion that creeps in with the humour. As usual, Frasier manages to blend comedy and pathos with equal talent-though this isn't a tearjerking episode at all.
As usual, great comedy. Some personal highlights for me included:
(it starts to rain)
Niles: Is that rain?
Frasier: No, God is crying (!)
Frasier and Martin's argument on "toast sweat" culminating with:
Frasier: Haven't you heard Dad's lectures on toast sweat?! It's the scourge of our times!
And, of course, unforgettably:
Niles: Let's talk about something else. Something light and frothy.
Frasier: I agree. (beat). Are you in love with Daphne?
(Niles spits out his coffee.)
Another great episode and a wonderful finale to the first season.


Rating: 95%

 

More, please!, Jul 09, 2012

Reviewer: Tid from SW England


This delightful episode is in many ways "typical Frasier", packed full of
wit, clever dialogue, and characterful interactions.

Brilliant idea to set the season closer entirely at Café Nervosa, and
based around Niles' simple question to Frasier : "Are you happy?"

My own episode highlights:
- Niles on the phone to Maris "No, take a left, then immediately turn
right" Frasier: "Has Maris got lost again?" Niles: "Yes, poor dear. She
took a wrong turn and inadvertently ended up in the kitchen. I had to
guide her back to the living room."

- Martin arriving with Daphne and Eddie; on being told by the waitress
"Sorry, no dogs" he doesn't pause for a moment but gropes at the air
as if blind!

- Discussing Niles' feelings for Daphne, Niles says "Why did you have
to hire Venus? Couldn't you have settled for an Eastern European
washerwoman reeking of ammonia?" Whereon Frasier replied "It was
an Olympic year - the agency were all out."

Typical Frasier, and a perfect way to end the season.


Rating: 95%

 

Wonderful, Mar 10, 2011

Reviewer: Paul B from UK


This is my favourite ever episode of Frasier. A joy from start to finish and a homage to 'My Dinner with Andre' a film which we learn later in the series is one of Niles favourite movies. No action, nothing happens so the joy is in the way the characters interact. The dialogue is first rate with the conversations between Frasier and Niles is superb as they meditate on life and Frasier seeks the coffee he wants. Appearances from Martin, Daphne and Roz are perfectly judged and the whole thing is a delight.


Rating: 99%

 

Classic!, Sep 20, 2010

Reviewer: RD from A, I


I checked... but it was an Olympic year, the agency was fresh out!


One of my favourites.


Rating: 100%

 

My Coffee with Niles, Feb 28, 2010

Reviewer: Warren Lancaster from Toronto, ONT, CAN


In the final episode of the overall fantastic first season of "Frasier", Niles attempts to get an answer from Frasier to his question of "Are you happy?", but the two brothers Crane are consistently interrupted, either by their waitress, Roz, Martin, Daphne, or Eddie. This episode harkens back to the first episode, showcasing how far these characters have come over the first twenty-four episodes. We come to see in this episode that both Martin and Frasier have mellowed, and this new mindset that is created in this episode sets the tone and raises the bar for season two. Onward and upward.


Rating: 100%

 

A lovely episode, Jul 09, 2009

Reviewer: Sammy J from Canberra, Australia


During coffee at KACL, Frasier ponders his life in Seattle with the
help of Niles, Martin, Roz, Daphne, and a reluctant waitress. This is a
very intelligent episode which truly takes stock of the season and its
characters, and provides great material for Kelsey Grammer and
David Hyde Pierce. It's not one of the most hilarious episodes of the
show's history, but it's a worthwhile episode that proved this show
was a cut above the rest.


Rating: 94%

 

my coffee with niles review, Aug 14, 2008

Reviewer: irish08 from ireland


I can not think of another tv series that would able to have a plot like this episode and keep it both interesting and yet funny, great end to the first season.


Rating: 96%

 

My Coffee, Aug 03, 2008

Reviewer: Kathy from Australia


I thought it was very clever how they had Frasier rather than Niles being the fussy one with his coffee. I find myself reading between the lines with this episode in that Frasier has "settled" in Seattle as his home now, seeing as he has become a Coffee Connoissiur now. I recall in Season 3, "you can go home again", when Niles orders his coffee and Frasier says how he can not imagine himself being that fussy over a coffee! Very clever episode. Splendid acting as always.


Rating: 97%

 

My Coffee With Niles, Apr 07, 2006

Reviewer: Amz from Wiltshire UK


The season finale and what a great one it was! The whole episode was set in Café Nervosa, and when I first watched it, I personally found it boring as there wasn't much going on. But now, as I watch it over and over again, I see it as one of my favourites. My favourite quote was right at the end when the waitress asks Frasier "are you happy?" referring to his coffee, and Frasier answers "yes I am" refferring to Niles' question. It was a great way to end the episode and the series.


Rating: 93%

 

Nervosa, Feb 11, 2006

Reviewer: Matt Horn (a.k.a Mayday Malone) from Marylebone, London


An excellent episode that is set within (and outside) Nervosa for virtually the entire length. If anything this episode gives more of an insight into the daily meetings of the Brothers Crane than other episodes, although they'll be many more episodes with stretches in Nervosa.

Frasier and his coffee is one of great parts of the episode. When he asks at one point the status of his coffee and the waitress replies: "We have a team of specialists working on it."

In short:

Excellent. (And good coffee too)


Rating: 100%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2