Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 8.08 - Frasier's Edge

Avg. Viewer Review: 73.6%
Number of Reviews: 14

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Roots lost, Jun 13, 2013

Reviewer: Matt from UK


There is a profound irony circling this episode. Frasier was a show whose
formidable reputation was built on wit, farce, ephemeral hints of drama,
and satirising elitism. However, Frasier's Edge willingly undoes all of that.

An utterly pretentious episode where the writers think they can do the
profession that they had previously only mocked with cliches; few one-
liners and almost nothing to do for the rest of the cast; and just a very
poor choice of direction for the character and the show. Much more has
been revealed about Frasier's character via his actions rather than this
turgid 'introspection'.

Watching Frasier's Edge is the dramatic equivalent of watching an actor
talk about their art. I'll give a few percentage points for a Gil Chesterton
appearance.


Rating: 42%

 

Mid-life crisis, May 16, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


Season 8 has had a murky opening third, and even by that reduced yardstick, "Frasier's Edge" certainly isn't the funniest installment. But truth be told, I have a very strong admiration for this episode.

The episode starts with what seems like a typical plot, with Frasier overanalysing his former mentor's card. It quickly becomes a two-character piece between Kelsey Grammer and guest star Rene Auberjonois (one of my favourite actors for as long as I can remember). This series has never shied away from examining Frasier's psyche, and this episode does so in a much more pointedly dramatic fashion.

I think the Frasier/Tewksbury sequences are far from perfect. There's an awkwardness between comedy and drama that may just result from the studio audience, but sometimes detracts from the script's intention. However, Frasier's mid-life crisis has been brewing throughout late season 6 and most of season 7, and it's about time the series devoted an episode squarely to it. I'm nowhere near Frasier Crane's age, but I find myself contemplating many of the same things: the dreams we set and then slowly pull back to keep ourselves from disappointment; the self-doubt that sinks in through singledom or lack of career advancement; the general ennui that can pervade a stagnant life. What fascinates me about this long-running show, like so few others, is that it begins to ask the questions. Why have its characters been single and in the same life situations for so long? Sure, the extra-textual answer is that they need to be. It's a TV show. But within the show's world, to actually have the characters ask this question, it's very brave. (I also believe Kelsey Grammer - after eight years on the show - wanted to add more layers to his character. With Jane Leeves involved less due to her pregnancy, it would've seemed like an opportune time to devote so much time to this.) I guess for me, this episode would certainly not be ideal to catch on a rerun at 8 on a Saturday morning. But like the other more mainstream experiments ("Dinner Party" and "RDWRER" spring to mind), this is a little piece of the puzzle. 1/264th of a series.

The sideplot of the SeaBees generates a few laughs, but mostly I just enjoy when the series generates a communal feel and plays along with its own continuity. To see Roz, Gil and the team getting excited for the awards is probably something the writers keep on hand for whenever they need to fill a subplot each year, but it feels like an investment for the long-term fans. (Kenny continues to be very well-written this year, after being an unusual addition to the recurring cast in season 6).

If I had to quibble. "Frasier's Edge" seems oddly placed. Whereas his midlife crisis drove parts of seasons 6 and 7, and will return in season 9, it's not really a focal point of season 8. Given the melancholy ending of the episode, I'd expect more from this development than just a token nod next week. Ah well: if an eight-year-old series can still look inside its characters and find this much depth, I'm not going to complain too much.


Rating: 89%

 

So you didn't laugh? So what?, Jul 29, 2012

Reviewer: Sarah from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada


I was very surprise to see the negative reviews of this episode as it's one
of my favourites. One of the best things about the sitcoms of this era is
that they were unafraid to, on occasion, write an episode that dealt with
characters as people rather than comedians. Some of the serious
episodes in this series, such as You Can Go Home Again and Frasier's
Edge display not only the best of the actors' abilities but a unique
courage to skip over cheap laughs and really go after the emotion. If you
watch this show because you're bored on a Sunday afternoon then you
probably won't find this episode the amusing diversion you expect it to
be. If you watch it because of it's smart writing and well-rounded
characters then this episode is for you. The serious moments in sitcoms
are what take a show from good to great. Life isn't all laughs.


Rating: 85%

 

Frasier's Edge, Jun 20, 2011

Reviewer: Jeremy from Dallas, TX USA


The first time I saw this episode, I thought it was an interesting and insightful addition to the show. Although I still believe the intellectual buildup to Frasier’s final line with Dr. Tewkesbury (“I’m sorry caller, I can’t help you”) is very well-written, I can’t help but notice an obvious lack of comedy in this episode. Not only this, but what comedy this episode provides is lame and warrants little more than amusement. The comedy is hugely sacrificed for the character development of Frasier, and this just plain doesn’t work in a Frasier episode. It completely deviates from the consistency the show has brought in providing a good mix of drama and humor in episodes containing dramatic elements. The biggest problem with the episode, however, is that Frasier’s internal conflict is not resolved. The episode leaves the viewer feeling as empty as Frasier when, at the end, he simply accepts his lifetime achievement award and walks off stage. If only the writers would have composed this episode in such a manner that provided a resolution to Frasier’s problem, it would have been much more successful. Even though the subsequent episode makes a small attempt at continuity and a resolution by having Frasier aspire to cherish his time spent with Frederick (thereby giving him something more in his life than psychiatry) we are treated to an anti-climactic ending which is never fully resolved, giving season eight as a whole a huge plot hole. The only remotely salvageable parts of this episode are the scenes with Frasier and even those scenes are mostly boring and laugh-free. The rest of the episode is largely cringe-worthy, with few jokes actually being funny and none being of the same caliber as the high-wit jokes delivered in previous seasons. This is the worst episode of the series so far. Unfortunately, it’s not even the worst of season eight, which is just a testament to how much the quality of the show started to dive in its eighth season.


Rating: 67%

 

A return to form after several very poor episodes, Apr 13, 2011

Reviewer: Adam from Manchester, England


After being disappointed with series 8 thus far I was expecting another weak episode. To my surprise this episode brings it back somewhat. There's a perfect mixture of wit, comedy and heart warming sensitivity.

The scene where frasier calls himself and comes to conclusion (with a little help from his mentor) he's been hiding behind books all these years was very touching. And I'm confused by the person who said this episode was pointless and isn't made reference to in the next episode. The whole point of the next episode is that Frasier has come to a point in his life where he needs to readdress his priorities, with his Son being the top. This level of maturity is what I love about Frasier.

Also the laughs were frequent in this episode, especially the running gag with Martin overcompensating his love for Niles due to Frasier's award, it had me in stitches. Martin has definitely been stealing the show as of late. Even though there has been a steady decrease in the quality of the show as a whole, Martin's character has kept on getting better with plenty of his idiosyncrasies coming through.


Rating: 90%

 

What happens next?, Jan 12, 2010

Reviewer: Chumbley from London, England


Overall, it was a great episode, but it finishes with Frasier walking of the stage at the award ceremony but nothing leads on from that. The next episode: Cranes Unplugged, has no reference to the nominations and award ceremony at all. I just want to know how Frasier got out of that extreme depression.

On a different note, the fat jokes were hilarious.


Rating: 75%

 

A beautiful episode, May 01, 2008

Reviewer: Bonus from Norway


I'm surprise to see the lukewarm reviews of this episode. For me -- who started watching «Frasier» in 1993 and own all the 11 DVD's -- it's one of the best. It's not hysterical or has a complicated plot, but it shows Frasier more as a person than a character.

One of my favourite «Frasier» scenes ever is when he's in Dr. Tewkesbury's office and calls himself for advice. When he explains his problem and says he's feeling empty, I... I don't know, it's just so human and relatable, you know?

Often when I'm feeling blue I watch this episode. It's simply beautiful.


Rating: 95%

 

At its worst , better than most., Apr 30, 2007

Reviewer: mark howes howes81@yahoo.co.uk from Norwich UK


I just watched this episode this morning, and I must say , if this is a series in which Frasier took a lull, at its worst its better than most sitcoms the Uk produced for a while.


Rating: 67%

 

Hideous, Apr 29, 2007

Reviewer: Me123 from Glasgow, Scotland


This episode would actually fail for me if it weren't for some of the jokes, such as Gil and Roz's looks of poison and some of the Daphne fat jokes. Prof. Tewkesbury is a rather pointless character and the episode is centred around Frasier analysing himself with help from his Mentor.

After the promising start, it deteriorates rapidly and ends without a conclusion. It has no direction, not nearly enough entertainment value, and no point. Tedious and dull are the best words that could be used to describe this.


Rating: 50%

 

Great Episode, Jul 25, 2006

Reviewer: Travis Bird from Anacortes, WA


I thought this episode struck straight to many hearts as Frasier revealed a side of his subconsious that has not been revealed before. As in any series, there is always one episode with fewer laughs and more in-depth discussion with the characters and this episode was a perfect example of how to do so. All around, great episode.


Rating: 90%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2