Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 6.03 - Dial M For Martin

Avg. Viewer Review: 93.4%
Number of Reviews: 13

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

New dynamic, May 11, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


"Dial M for Martin" is a very funny episode, even if I spent a bit of time worrying about Niles' sanity - having him attempt to kill Martin, even unconsciously, is a borderline step for any character, surely! Season 6 is one of my favourites for great character interaction, and it's really satisfying to see Daphne and Martin in a new environment. It would've been interesting for Daphne to have a story arc away from Frasier's apartment, but I guess with Frasier unemployed, they didn't want to put too much on their plate. It's a shame, because seeing Daphne grow outside of the Crane family is an important step in her development. Season 6 is the start of a slow move away from Daphne as a character, which is also a shame.

But for now, I can concede that this episode has more than its fair share of great lines and physical humour.


Rating: 86%

 

'M' for magnificient, Sep 03, 2012

Reviewer: Lucy from London


This is one of my all time favourite Frasier episodes and one that really let David Hyde Pearce shine, showing just how talented an actor he is. It was also good to see him in the main plot without Frasier.
Thanks to a suggestion from Roz, Martin moves in with Niles.
Niles' face is an absolute picture when Martin tells him. I love the line he says, 'I want you now just as much as I wanted you then!'
Niles is resistant at first, until he realises that Daphne comes with the package!
I loved seeing how Niles and Martin were living together and Niles' reactions to the situations he was faced with were fun to watch. The sight of Eddie running around the table was wonderful!
I love the mad look on Niles' face when he asks Martin to join him on the balcony! The desperation from Niles when he realises Daphne may be leaving was entertaining.
The subplot of Frasier enjoying his new found freedom and his eagerly anticipated date with a lingerie model was entertaining, especially the way the music kept coming on and then abruptly turned off each time. I loved the way amidst all the fiasco in the hallway near the end he still turned the music back on when his date arrived!
The ending was good, showing an inconsolable Frasier walking back into his apartment and taking one last look at his batchelor pad then after taking a swig of wine says, 'bring him in'.


Rating: 100%

 

Hitchcock, Jul 13, 2011

Reviewer: Sally from Liverpool


I think most of what I wanted to say has already been said, however I'm surprised that not a single person mentioned the title of the episode. The show has a wonderful history of paying homage to many great films as well as subtle references to tv shows from the US and the UK.


Rating: 99%

 

Dial M For Martin, Jul 16, 2010

Reviewer: Norm, Jr. from Somewhere, CA


A very welcome change of pace from the mire of the Jobless Frasier junk, this actually turns into season 2 or 3 quality hilarity. Our favorite springboard of father-son bickering launches this ep of Niles taking Martin in for awhile. Of course, Daphne being part of the package courses through Niles bloodstream at the thought of getting some alone-time with her. The notion of her feeling that Martin is well enough for her to leave sets Niles off on a string of comically dark interventions at keeping Martin "hurt." Impeccable work by all involved, as if a couple Frasier scribes were off on their own penning something out of frustration to get away from the KACL-free Frasier. Only distraction is the re-use of "Three Dates and a Break-Up"'s swingin' Frasier hamminess, plus the reality of Niles (and later Daphne's) use of Martin as a painful prop for their psyches.


Rating: 90%

 

Another series classic!, Nov 23, 2008

Reviewer: Tom M from Cumbria, England


A highly enjoyable classic with some great character acting from John Mahoney! DHP is on top form as usual, especially at the hilarious balcony scene. After a rocky start, this is the finest season 6 episode yet.


Rating: 95%

 

I love this episode, Nov 16, 2007

Reviewer: Brenda from Oregon, USA


I think this episode is hilarious. Niles sly plan in getting Daphne under the same roof while putting up with his dad's quirks backfires when Daphne starts looking for another job. Dad getting freaked out by all of the strange and dangerous coincidence around the house.... it is great! Irony all over the place.


Rating: 95%

 

:-), Aug 27, 2007

Reviewer: Tamz from UK


Love this episode its ace. One of the best of the season. Its when Martin goes all wide eyed when he suspects Niles is trying to hurt him, half way thru. "Dad, come and join me on the balcony" Haha


Rating: 95%

 

A great relief, Jan 12, 2007

Reviewer: Me123 from Scotland, UK


After the first two episodes of season 6, Dial M For Martin is just what I'd been hoping for: A classic! It could be fair to say that, after a dry start to the season, it has finally found it's feet.

From the very start of the episode, you can see that this will be based around Frasier's relationship with Martin: a somewhat dormant theme for a while now. Once again, Grammer and Mahonney portray this relationship very well and are brilliant at the fight scene that opens the episode.

Whilst in Café Nervosa, mainly a progression scene, there is the absolutely hilarious line from Niles:

Niles: I'm not interrupting anything personal, am I?
Roz: [taking Martin's hand] Yeah, Niles, we just eloped.
I'm your new mom. [Martin smiles and pats her hand.]
Niles: Well, I'll be a son of a bitch.

Such a great line in just the right moment is why Frasier is one of the greatest comedies of all time.

A great point to make about this episode is that it centres around both the Martin storyline and the Daphne/Niles infatuation. We hear many great slips from Niles throughout the episode:

Martin: Oh, Daph, let me ask you somethin'. How would you feel
about movin' in with Niles?
Daphne: Are you serious?
Niles: Yes.
Daphne: Just me?
Niles: Yes. [recovering] No, no. And Dad.

It is when Daphne announces that it is time for her to move on that the episode gets into full swing. DHP portrays the inner psychopath in Niles brilliantly, with a convincing voice and great facial expressions in lines such as:

Niles: Oh, look at the sunset! Dad, come join me on the balcony.

During the climax in Frasier's apartment, whilst I find the doorbell scene a tad annoying, it almost moved me to tears to see Daphne so sad. Leeves is brilliant at getting viewers sympathy and, when she "accidently" knocks Martin over, you can see the relief on everyone's face (except Frasier, who naturally turns to sorrow) that the family is back together.

In conclusion, it is a great episode on two fronts: it is humerous thoughout and is one of the emotional high points of the season.

However, once again Frasier loses his date. This leaves the viewers with a simple question: Will Frasier ever find happiness again?


Rating: 92%

 

Dial M for Marvelous, Sep 06, 2006

Reviewer: David Jones from North Wales, Great Britain


A wonderful episode with some great lines. Niles looks truly evil at times, especially when he says: "Dad, come and join me on the balcony!"

Frasier is also good, in particular when he Niles, Martin and Daphne come calling one by one and he does what has become a classic "Fraiser walk" which is looks a bit like he's jogging in slow motion.


Rating: 100%

 

Frasier's attempt at black comedy, Mar 07, 2006

Reviewer: David Sim from Skelmersdale, Lancashire


Dial M for Martin is an interesting episode because it places Niles in Frasier's shoes for a day. His elegant apartment has to put up with the shocking image of Martin's unsightly chair smack dab in the middle of it. Eddie starts causing trouble, Daphne moves in. When it all falls into place, it's capped by Frasier arriving unannounced, and sums it up beautifully:

"Don't worry Niles. You'll get used to it."

With this episode, we get some fascinating insights into Niles' character. When faced with the possibility that Daphne might be going out of his life, it seems that unconsciously Niles may try to cause Martin injury to get her to stay. David Hyde Pierce is exceptionally funny throughout, because there is a lot of ambiguity to the situation.

Another part I especially liked was the conversation between Martin and Roz at Cafe Nirvosa. John Mahoney and Peri Gilpin are a fine double act, and should be paired up more often, especially since they provide Niles with one of the funniest exchanges in Frasier's history:

Roz: Niles, your Dad and I have just eloped. I'm your new mother.

Niles: Well I'll be a sonofabitch.

All the scenes at Niles' apartment are fantastic because there is such a dark tone to this episode (Dad won't you join me on the balcony) that you start to wonder what is going through Niles' mind.

The final scene with Frasier relaxing in his apartment, getting ready for a date is amusing to begin with, but it reuses the same gag of him switching on romantic music only to find Martin, then Niles and Daphne that it gets tedious. Still, it is capped by the exasperated Frasier having to take Martin back, and his last line of dialogue is marvellous.

The end credits sequence is hilarious with things back to normal, and Frasier is utterly depressed.

Overall a funny episode, but also a fascinating character study at the same time.


Rating: 90%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2